Principles and Techniques of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Keith Wilson (Editor); John Walker (Editor)This is a new and expanded edition of the bestselling Principles and Techniques of Practical Biochemistry. It includes discussion of the theoretical principles, practical details and applications of the key experimental techniques that are routinely used in modern biochemistry and molecular biology, including those that have led to the emergence of the new disciplines of genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics. All chapters have been updated and new sections added to cover the principles of experimental design, the statistical analysis of quantitative analytical data, and the principles and practice of clinical biochemistry. here are new chapters covering cell culture, microscopy and mass spectrometry. To enhance student understanding of each topic, in-text worked examples are included in each chapter. The textbook will be essential reading for all bioscience students and pre-clinical medical students.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 572 WILS
Publication Date: 2005
Derivative Spectrophotometry and PAM-Fluorescence in Comparative Biochemistry by Vladimir S. Saakov; Alexander I. Krivchenko; Eugene V. Rozengart; Irina G. DanilovaThis book presents various examples of how advanced fluorescence and spectroscopic analytical methods can be used in combination with computer data processing to address different biochemical questions. The main focus is on evolutionary biochemistry and the description of biochemical and metabolic issues; specifically, the use of pulse amplitude modulated fluorescence (PAM) for the functional analysis of the cellular state, as well as results obtained by means of the derivative spectroscopy method characterizing structural reorganization of a cell under the influence of external factors, are discussed. The topics presented here will be of interest to biologists, geneticists, biophysicists and biochemists, as well as experts in analytical chemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry and radio chemistry and radio activation studies with protonen and alpha-particles. It also offers a valuable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in biological, physical and chemical disciplines whose work involves derivative spectrophotometry and PAM-fluorescence.
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
How to Reference:
Bradford, M. (1976). A Rapid and Sensitive Method for the Quantification of Microgram Quantities of Protein using the Principle of Protein Dye-binding, Analytical Biochemistry, 72:248 -254