Electrophoresis in Practice: a guide to methods and applications of DNA and protein separations (Online, Wiley) by Reiner WestermeierThis fifth edition of the successful, long-selling classic has been completely revised and expanded, omitting some topics on obsolete DNA electrophoresis, but now with a completely new section on electrophoretic micro-methods and on-the-chip electrophoresis. The text is geared towards advanced students and professionals and contains extended background sections, protocols and a trouble-shooting section. It is now also backed by a supplementary website providing all the figures for teaching purposes, as well as a selection of animated figures tested in many workshops to explain the underlying principles of the different electrophoretic methods.
Publication Date: 2016
Protein Electrophoresis (Online, Springer) by Biji T. Kurien (Editor); R. Hal Scofield (Editor)Proteins are the functional units of the cellular machinery and they provide significant information regarding the molecular basis of health and disease. Therefore, techniques to separate and isolate the various proteins are critical to studying and understanding their functional characteristics. One of the widely used techniques for this purpose is electrophoresis. In Protein Electrophoresis: Methods and Protocols, contributions from experts in the field have been collected in order to provide practical guidelines to this complex study. Each chapter outlines a specific electrophoretic variant in detail so that laboratory scientists may perform a technique new to their lab without difficulty. Written in the successful Methods in Molecular Biology(tm) series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and notes on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and accessible, Protein Electrophoresis: Methods and Protocols seeks to serve laboratory scientists with well-honed, detailed methodologies in an effort to further our knowledge of this essential field.
Publication Date: 2012
PAGE and SDS-PAGE Book Chapters and Encyclopedic definitions
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
How to Reference:
Mitra, P., Pal, A.Κ., Basu, D. and Hati, R.N. (1994) A Staining Procedure using Coomassie Brilliant Blue G-250 in Phosphoric acid for Detection of Protein Bonds with High Resolution in Polyacrylamide Gel and Nitrocellulose Membrane, Analytical Biochemistry, 223: 327 – 329.