2:08 Choosing a Mobile Phase 3:30 Spotting the TLC Plate
4:51 Development and Visualization 6:34 Analysis
7:41 Applications 9:22 Summary
Thin Layer Chromatography ONLINE Books
Chromatography: Basic Principles, Sample Preparations and Related Methods (Online, 3 users, EbscoHost) by Elsa Lundanes; Tyge Greibrokk; Lon ReubsaetFinally a book on chromatography which is easy to grasp for undergraduates and technicians; covers the area in sufficient depth while still being concise. The book includes all recent technology advances and has core textbook features further improving the learning experience. This book is the perfect introduction into a methodology which is the underlying principle of the vast majority of separation methods worldwide. Everyone working in a lab environment must be familiar with the basis of these technologies and Tyge Greibrokk, Elsa Lundanes and Leon Reubsaet succeed in delivering a text which is easy to read for undergraduates and laboratory technicians, and covers the area in sufficient depth while still being concise. The book includes all recent technology advances and has core textbook features further improving the learning experience. Importantly, the text does not only cover all major modern chromatography technology (thin layer, gas, high pressure liquid, and supercritical fluid chromatography) but also related methods, in particular electrophoretic technologies.
Publication Date: 2013
Thin-Layer Chromatography: A Modern Practical Approach (Online; RSC) by Peter E. Wall; Royal Society of Chemistry Staff; Roger M. Smith (Contribution by)Thin-Layer Chromatography (TLC) is a modern, reliable tool that complements other chromatographic techniques. This book provides a practical guide to the basic principles, procedures and pitfalls on the practical application of TLC. Thin Layer Chromatography: A Modern Practical Approach offers a sequence of chapters following the steps of the technique as the chromatographer would follow them. The chapters provide a choice of sorbent best suited to the separation intended, followed by pre-treatment required for the sample, applying the sample to the sorbent layer, development procedure, visualisation and detection, and finally quantification. Imaging and hyphenation techniques are described. The reasons why recommendations are made for specific and more general methods are covered. The book also provides an overview of some recent developments in the field.
Publication Date: 2005
Thin Layer Chromatography PRINT Books
Thin Layer Chromatography in Phytochemistry by Monika Waksmundzka-Hajnos; Joseph Sherma; Teresa KowalskaThin layer chromatography (TLC) is increasingly used in the fields of plant chemistry, biochemistry, and molecular biology. Advantages such as speed, versatility, and low cost make it one of the leading techniques used for locating and analyzing bioactive components in plants. Thin Layer Chromatography in Phytochemistryis the first source devoted to supplying state-of-the-art information on TLC as it applies to the separation, identification, quantification, and isolation of medicinal plant components. Renowned scientists working with laboratories around the world demonstrate the applicability of TLC to a remarkable diversity of fields including plant genetics, drug discovery, nutraceuticals, and toxicology. Elucidates the role of plant materials in the pharmaceutical industry... Part Iprovides a practical review of techniques, relevant materials, and the particular demands for using TLC in phytochemical applications. The text explains how to determine the biological activity of metabolites and assess the effectiveness of herbal medicines and nutritional supplements. Part IIconcentrates on TLC methods used to analyze specific plant-based metabolite classes such as carbohydrates, proteins, alkaloids, flavonoids, terpenes, etc. Organized by compound type, each chapter discusses key topics such as sample preparation, plate development, zone detection, densitometry, and biodetection. Demonstrates practical methods that can be applied to a wide range of disciplines... From identification to commercial scale production and quality control, Thin Layer Chromatography in Phytochemistryis an essential bench-top companion and reference on using TLC for the study of plant-based bioactive compounds.
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols