EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Spectroscopic Methods in Organic Chemistry (Online; Springer) by Ian Fleming; Dudley WilliamsThis book is a well-established guide to the interpretation of the mass, ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectra of organic compounds. It is designed for students of organic chemistry taking a course in the application of these techniques to structure determination. The text also remains useful as a source of data for organic chemists to keep on their desks throughout their career. In the seventh edition, substantial portions of the text have been revised reflecting knowledge gained during the author's teaching experience over the last seven years. The chapter on NMR has been divided into two separate chapters covering the 1D and 2D experiments. The discussion is also expanded to include accounts of the physics at a relatively simple level, following the development of the magnetization vectors as each pulse sequence is introduced. The emphasis on the uses of NMR spectroscopy in structure determination is retained. Worked examples and problem sets are included on a chapter level to allow students to practise their skills by determining the chemical structures of unknown compounds.
Publication Date: 2020
Organic Chemistry: structure, mechanism, synthesis (Online, Science Direct) by J. David Rawn; Robert J. OuelletteOrganic Chemistry: Structure, Mechanism, Synthesis, Second Edition, provides basic principles of this fascinating and challenging science, which lies at the interface of physical and biological sciences. Offering accessible language and engaging examples and illustrations, this valuable introduction for the in-depth chemistry course engages students and gives future and new scientists a new approach to understanding, rather than merely memorizing the key concepts underpinning this fundamental area. The book builds in a logical way from chemical bonding to resulting molecular structures, to the corresponding physical, chemical and biological properties of those molecules. The book explores how molecular structure determines reaction mechanisms, from the smallest to the largest molecules--which in turn determine strategies for organic synthesis. The book then describes the synthetic principles which extend to every aspect of synthesis, from drug design to the methods cells employ to synthesize the molecules of which they are made. These relationships form a continuous narrative throughout the book, in which principles logically evolve from one to the next, from the simplest to the most complex examples, with abundant connections between the theory and applications. Featuring in-book solutions and instructor PowerPoint slides, this Second Edition offers an updated and improved option for students in the two-semester course and for scientists who require a high quality introduction or refresher in the subject.
Publication Date: 2018
Advanced Organic Chemistry Series Books (Online, SpringerLink)The two-part, fifth edition of Advanced Organic Chemistry has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. The material has been updated to reflect advances in the field since the previous edition, especially in computational chemistry. Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type. It can stand-alone; together, with Part A: Structure and Mechanisms, the two volumes provide a comprehensive foundation for the study in organic chemistry. Companion websites provide digital models for students and exercise solutions for instructors.
Organic Chemistry Concepts (Online, Science Direct) by Gregory Roos; Cathryn RoosOrganic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach provides an introductory overview of the subject, to enable the reader to understand many critical, experimental facts. Designed to cover a single-semester course or a needed review on the principles of Organic Chemistry, the book is written and organized for readers whose first language is not English. Approximately 80% of the words used are drawn from the list of the 2,000 most common English words; the remaining 20% includes necessary technical words, common chemistry terms, and well-known academic words (per the Academic Word List). The book has been class-tested internationally as well as with native English speakers, and differs from other introductory textbooks in the subject both in its coverage and organization, with a particular focus on common problem areas. Focused on a limited number of functional classes, Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach introduces those organic compounds early in the book. Once readers have a foundation of the concepts and language of organic chemistry, they can build from that knowledge and work with relatively complex molecules, such as some natural product types covered in a later chapter. The book describes basic level reaction mechanisms when instructive, and illustrations throughout to emphasize the 3D nature of organic chemistry. The book includes multiple pedagogical features, such as chapter questions and useful appendices, to support reader comprehension. Covers all primary concepts in accessible language and pedagogical features, worked examples, glossary, chapter questions, illustrations, and useful summaries Builds a foundation of key material through a structured framework from which readers can expand their understanding Contains class-tested content written in a straightforward and accessible manner for non-native English speakers
Publication Date: 2014
Organic Chemistry Study Guide (Online, Science Direct) by Robert J. Ouellette; J. David RawnOrganic Chemistry Study Guide: Key Concepts, Problems, and Solutions features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject. Organic chemistry is a constantly evolving field that has great relevance for all scientists, not just chemists. For chemical engineers, understanding the properties of organic molecules and how reactions occur is critically important to understanding the processes in an industrial plant. For biologists and health professionals, it is essential because nearly all of biochemistry springs from organic chemistry. Additionally, all scientists can benefit from improved critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are developed from the study of organic chemistry. Organic chemistry, like any "skill", is best learned by doing. It is difficult to learn by rote memorization, and true understanding comes only from concentrated reading, and working as many problems as possible. In fact, problem sets are the best way to ensure that concepts are not only well understood, but can also be applied to real-world problems in the work place. Helps readers learn to categorize, analyze, and solve organic chemistry problems at all levels of difficulty Hundreds of fully-worked practice problems, all with solutions Key concept summaries for every chapter reinforces core content from the companion book
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Organic Chemistry (Online, Science Direct) by Robert J. Ouellette; J. David RawnClass-tested and thoughtfully designed for student engagement, Principles of Organic Chemistry provides the tools and foundations needed by students in a short course or one-semester class on the subject. This book does not dilute the material or rely on rote memorization. Rather, it focuses on the underlying principles in order to make accessible the science that underpins so much of our day-to-day lives, as well as present further study and practice in medical and scientific fields. This book provides context and structure for learning the fundamental principles of organic chemistry, enabling the reader to proceed from simple to complex examples in a systematic and logical way. Utilizing clear and consistently colored figures, Principles of Organic Chemistry begins by exploring the step-by-step processes (or mechanisms) by which reactions occur to create molecular structures. It then describes some of the many ways these reactions make new compounds, examined by functional groups and corresponding common reaction mechanisms. Throughout, this book includes biochemical and pharmaceutical examples with varying degrees of difficulty, with worked answers and without, as well as advanced topics in later chapters for optional coverage. Incorporates valuable and engaging applications of the content to biological and industrial uses Includes a wealth of useful figures and problems to support reader comprehension and study Provides a high quality chapter on stereochemistry as well as advanced topics such as synthetic polymers and spectroscopy for class customization
Publication Date: 2015
Schaum's Outline Organic Chemistry (Online, Access Engineering) by Herbert Meislich; Howard Nechamkin; Jacob Sharefkin; George HademenosTough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 1,800 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 24 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and highergrades in every subject. Each Outline presents all theessential course information in an easy-to-follow,topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds ofexamples, solved problems, and practice exercises totest your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 1,806 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of organic chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for organicchemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores!
Publication Date: 2013
Organic Chemistry by T. W. Graham Solomons; Craig B. Fryhle; Scott SnyderNow in a new edition, this book continues its tradition of excellence in teaching and preparing students for success in the organic classroom and beyond. A central theme of the authors′s approach to organic chemistry is to emphasize the relationship between structure and reactivity. To accomplish this, the text is organized in a way that combines the most useful features of a functional group approach with one largely based on reaction mechanisms. Emphasizing mechanisms and their common aspects as often as possible, this book shows students what organic chemistry is, how it works, and what it does in living systems and the physical world around us.
Call Number: DOORNFONTEIN FIRST FLOOR OPEN SHELF 547 SOLO
Publication Date: 2013 11th ed.
Organic Chemistry by T. W. Graham Solomons; Craig B. Fryhle; Scott A. SnyderThe 12th edition of Organic Chemistry continues Solomons, Fryhle & Snyder's tradition of excellence in teaching and preparing students for success in the organic classroom and beyond. A central theme of the authors' approach to organic chemistry is to emphasize the relationship between structure and reactivity. To accomplish this, the content is organized in a way that combines the most useful features of a functional group approach with one largely based on reaction mechanisms. The authors' philosophy is to emphasize mechanisms and their common aspects as often as possible, and at the same time, use the unifying features of functional groups as the basis for most chapters. The structural aspects of the authors' approach show students what organic chemistry is. Mechanistic aspects of their approach show students how it works. And wherever an opportunity arises, the authors' show students what it does in living systems and the physical world around us.
Call Number: DOORNFONTEIN O/NIGHT 2 HRS 547 SOLO
Publication Date: 2016 12th ed.
Recommended Print Books
The following list contains some of the books that may assist you with the preparation for the experiments: