ACS Publications (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowon campus access only.
American Chemical Society Publications
Analytical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowWide range of topic areas from materials science to food analysis, and from pharmacology to environmental monitoring. The searchable updates consist of article abstracts and details of analyte, matrix and technique. Updates can also be searched by subject area, chosen from a predefined list of topics.
Analytical Abstracts with links to Full-text
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
SciFinder: CAS (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOpenAthens (Previously known as Chemical Abstracts, Refer to “C” for CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus)
First time users please register here. This will provide you with the Username and Password required to log in.
Registration problems? Contact Pavlinka Kovatcheva: 011 559-2621
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
Click HERE to Register
