Meet your Science Librarians:
My name is Pavlinka Kovatcheva and I'm the Faculty Librarian for Science, APK
My contact details:
Desiree Mokgosi: DFC Information Librarian Science & Engineering E-mail: dmokgosi@uj.ac.za
Options to LOGIN to Library Online Resources (databases; Online Books, etc.)
OPTION B LOGIN
OPEN ATHENS LOGIN
If you are prompted to this screen please use your Blackboard credentials to login and select Student
Library Mobile App - download the Library App for easy access to Library Resources
The Organic & Analytical 2B LibGuide provide access to useful resources and instructions to help you in your essays and reports writing
Organic Chemistry by
Now in a new edition, this book continues its tradition of excellence in teaching and preparing students for success in the organic classroom and beyond. A central theme of the authors′s approach to organic chemistry is to emphasize the relationship between structure and reactivity. To accomplish this, the text is organized in a way that combines the most useful features of a functional group approach with one largely based on reaction mechanisms. Emphasizing mechanisms and their common aspects as often as possible, this book shows students what organic chemistry is, how it works, and what it does in living systems and the physical world around us.
Organic Chemistry by 
Advances in Nanomaterials: : Fundamentals, Properties and Applications (Springer Online) by
This exploratory textbook starts with fundamentals that satisfy the needs of a diverse group of educators, researchers and students aspiring to engage in research and engineering of nanomaterials. It bridges the gap between undergraduate students in science and engineering who have not yet chosen a specific career path, graduate students still considering different disciplines and the cross-cutting scientific topics in nanomaterials. It extends to methods of common practice in the field, spanning experimental, and theoretical techniques. The extensive use of nanomaterials, such as carbon nanotubes, in the future of global technological solutions underscores the relevance of this text aimed at students and researchers with a range of interests. "Advances in Nanomaterials: Fundamentals, Properties and Applications," is ideal for senior undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and general science enthusiasts interested in nanomaterials across contexts ranging from solar energy, structural engineering, to medical devices, to semiconductors.
Carbon Nanomaterials for Biomedical Applications by
This book covers a wide range of topics relating to carbon nanomaterials, from synthesis and functionalization to applications in advanced biomedical devices and systems. As they possess unique and attractive chemical, physical, optical, and even magnetic properties for various applications, considerable effort has been made to employ carbon nanomaterials (e.g., fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, graphene, nanodiamond) as new materials for the development of novel biomedical tools, such as diagnostic sensors, imaging agents, and drug/gene delivery systems for both diagnostics and clinical treatment. Tremendous progress has been made and the scattered literature continues to grow rapidly. With chapters by world-renowned experts providing an overview of the state of the science as well as an understanding of the challenges that lie ahead, Carbon Nanomaterials for Biomedical Applications is essential reading not only for experienced scientists and engineers in biomedical and nanomaterials areas, but also for graduate students and advanced undergraduates in materials science and engineering, chemistry, and biology.
Characterization of Nanomaterials (ScienceDirect) by
Characterization of Nanomaterials: Advances and Key Technologies discusses the latest advancements in the synthesis of various types of nanomaterials. The book's main objective is to provide a comprehensive review regarding the latest advances in synthesis protocols that includes up-to-date data records on the synthesis of all kinds of inorganic nanostructures using various physical and chemical methods. The synthesis of all important nanomaterials, such as carbon nanostructures, Core-shell Quantum dots, Metal and metal oxide nanostructures, Nanoferrites, polymer nanostructures, nanofibers, and smart nanomaterials are discussed, making this a one-stop reference resource on research accomplishments in this area. Leading researchers from industry, academia, government and private research institutions across the globe have contributed to the book. Academics, researchers, scientists, engineers and students working in the field of polymer nanocomposites will benefit from its solutions for material problems. Provides an up-to-date data record on the synthesis of all kinds of organic and inorganic nanostructures using various physical and chemical methods Presents the latest advances in synthesis protocols Presents latest techniques used in the physical and chemical characterization of nanomaterials Covers characterization of all the important materials groups such as: carbon nanostructures, core-shell quantumdots, metal and metal oxide nanostructures, nanoferrites, polymer nanostructures and nanofibers A broad range of applications is covered including the performance of batteries, solar cells, water filtration, catalysts, electronics, drug delivery, tissue engineering, food packaging, sensors and fuel cells Leading researchers from industry, academia, government and private research institutes have contributed to the books
Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology (SpringerLink) by
The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology provides a comprehensive and multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. It aims to be a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work and will be aimed at graduate students, researchers, and practitioners. The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology introduces a large number of terms, devices and processes which are related to the multi-disciplinary field of Nanotechnology. For each entry in this 4 volume set a 4-10 page description is provided by an expert in the field. Contributions are made by experts from the US, Europe and Asia, making this a comprehensive and truly international Reference Work. The authors are typically from academia, however one quarter of all entries were written by persons from industry. Topics covered in the Reference Work include: - Nano- Microfabrication Processes and Materials for Fabrication - Nanoscale Measurement Techniques - Nanostructures - Nanomaterials - Nanomechanics - Molecular Modeling and Its Role in Advancing Nanotechnology - MEMS/NEMS - Microfluidics and Nanofluidics - Biomedical Engineering and Biodevices - Bio/Nanotechnology and Nanomedicine - Bio/Nanotechnology for cellular engineering - Drug Delivery - Technology and Applications - Assembly - Organic Electronics - Nano-optical Devices - Micro/nano Integration - Materials, Coatings and Surface Treatments for Nanotribology - Micro/NanoReliability - thermal, mechanical etc. - Biomimetics
Handbook of Nanomaterials and Nanocomposites for Energy and Environmental Applications (SpringerLink) by
This exhaustive Handbook covers the synthesis and applications of nanomaterials that can be used in energy and environmental science applications. Given the pressing need for more efficient energy sources at lower costs, this book will help to provide a more cohesive understanding of nanocomposites and nanomaterials. Each chapter in this handbook is written by an expert in his or her field, and topics ranging from energy efficiency to material performance are presented. Catalysis, ceramic science, metallurgy, coatings, and green, sustainable materials are included. This Handbook provides a comprehensive guide to the field of applied nanomaterials. It will drive interest and research in the use of nanocomposites and nanomaterials for energy and environmental applications.
Synthesis, Technology and Applications of Carbon Nanomaterials by
Synthesis, Technology and Applications of Carbon Nanomaterials explores the chemical properties of different classes of carbon nanomaterials and their major applications. As carbon nanomaterials are used for a variety of applications due to their versatile properties and characteristics, this book discusses recent advances in synthesis methods, characterization, and applications of 0D -3D dimensional carbon nanomaterials. It is an essential resource for readers focusing on carbon nanomaterials research. Explores the chemical properties of different classes of carbon nanomaterials and their major applications Discusses recent advances in synthesis methods, characterization, and applications of 0D -3D dimensional carbon nanomaterials
