Assignment: Exercise 3 - Science - Chemistry 2 & 3 - Organic & Analytical Chemistry

Exercise 3: Reference list - Tracing full-text article from a reference

Exercise 3: Finding full-text articles from a Reference List (Journals search)

From the reference list below:

Select any TWO references with structures.
Use the abbreviated journal title to find the full Journal title (make use of Google or any other relevant website)
Search for the full-text journal title, by using A-to-Z Journals
Type the journal title into the search box.
If your journal title is available full-text, the name of the database will appear with the years indexed.
Click on the link of the database, which covers the publication date (year) of the article.
Once you find the full-text articles for the 2 references - print/photocopy the cover page of the article and the page in which the relevant structure is represented.
Write on the cover page or on the back of the page: the article full reference by using the reference example from UJ Reference Techniques.

Option 2: Using Lean Library Browser extension, trace the article and download it. Examples, during the training session

A-to-Z Journal List (Full Text Finder) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink) This link opens in a new window The UJ Library catalogue reflects the collection of items found in its various libraries. It is a systematically arranged list of all library holdings. All formats are reflected, such as print and e-books, periodical titles, manuscripts, maps, films, audio records and other graphic material. It contains the bibliographical information of each document.

Google search

Exercise 3: Select ANY 2 references from the list and find the full text

Reference 1:

BINAP/AgOTf/KF/18-Crown-6 as New Bifunctional Catalysts for Asymmetric Sakurai-Hosomi Allylation and Mukaiyama Aldol Reaction. M. Wadamoto, N. Ozasa, A. Yanagisawa, H. Yamamoto, J. Org. Chem., 2003, 68, 5593-5601. https://doi.org/10.1021/jo020691c

Reference 2:

Bismuth Triflate-Chiral Bipyridine Complexes as Water-Compatible Chiral Lewis Acids.
S. Kobayashi, T. Ogino, H. Shimizu, S. Ishikawa, T. Hamada, K. Manabe, Org. Lett., 2005, 7, 4729-4731. https://doi.org/10.1021/ol051965w

Reference 3:

Aluminum Bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)amides: New Highly Efficient and Remarkably Versatile Catalysts for C - C Bond Formation Reactions. A. Marx, H. Yamamoto, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2000, 39, 178-181.

Reference 4:

N-Heterocyclic Carbene-Catalyzed Mukaiyama Aldol Reactions. J. J. Song, Z. Tan, J. T. Reeves, N. K. Yee, C. H. Senanayake, Org. Lett., 2007, 9, 1013-1016. https://doi.org/10.1021/ol0630494

Reference 5:

Lewis Base Activation of Lewis Acids: Catalytic, Enantioselective Addition of Silyl Ketene Acetals to Aldehydes S. E. Denmark, G. L. Beutner, T. Wynn, M. D. Eastgate, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2005, 127, 3774-3789. https://doi.org/10.1021/ja047339w

Reference 6:

Catalytic Enantio- and Diastereoselective Aldol Reactions of Glycine-Derived Silicon Enolate with Aldehydes: An Efficient Approach to the Asymmetric Synthesis of anti-β-Hydroxy-α-Amino Acid Derivatives. J. Kobayashi, M. Nakamura, Y. Mori, Y. Yamashita, S. Kobayashi, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2004, 126, 9192-9193. https://doi.org/10.1021/ja047597t

Reference 7:

Lewis Base Activation of Lewis Acids. Vinylogous Aldol Addition Reactions of Conjugated N,O-Silyl Ketene Acetals to Aldehydes S. E. Denmark, J. R. Heemstra, Jr., J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2006, 128, 1038-1039. https://doi.org/10.1021/ja056747c